Newsletter | as PDF as PDF

Deutsche Version english version



Report
Mon. 16.04.2018
update 15.04.18 18:19 (Bernhard Niedermoser - translated by Jeffrey McCabe)

Attention: a day of avalanche activity

Afternoon

Morning

Due to lacking outgoing nocturnal radiation and rain showers, conditions on Monday are unfavourable. Below 2700 m, heightened avalanche activity can be expected. Avalanche danger will rise during the day. In Hohe Tauern is the most snow, danger will rise to CONSIDERABLE; elsewhere to MODERATE. Numerous gliding-snow and wet-snow avalanches can be expected.

Avalanche Danger

Avalanche danger on Monday will be MODERATE from the start and increase by the hour. At midday at latest, danger will be CONSIDERABLE, especially in the Tauern.

WET SNOW: Likelihood of naturally triggered avalanches (gliding snow, wet snow) will rise already in the morning. Many avalanches will be small-to-medium, some will probably be large. All aspects are at risk below 2300 m; on E-S-W facing slopes below 2700 m. In extremely steep terrain, wet loose-snow avalanches can be triggered by skiers.

SNOWDRIFTS: In high alpine regions above 2700 m, conditions are generally better, with relatively few avalanche prone locations for dry-snow slab avalanches on extremely steep, north-facing ridgeline slopes.

Snow Layering

The snowpack up to 2500 m is 0-degrees isotherm widespread, moist in the interior layers, wet below 1800 m. The process of slopes becoming bare of snow is unfolding apace. Within one week, 30-50 cm of the snowpack has been lost, most of which condensed in the foehn current. The activity area for gliding-snow and wet-snow avalanches is currently on north-facing slopes at 1700-2300 m; on south-facing slopes at 2100-2700 m. Above 2700 m the snowpack is currently rather stable.

Alpine Weather Forecast (ZAMG Salzburg)

On Sunday night, skies will be overcast. Occasional showers are possible, more likely in southern than in northern regions.

On Monday the peaks will often be hidden in fog. Intermittent rainfall can be expected. As of midday, thunder and lightning will make their appearance. Some snowfall is anticipated in high alpine regions. The southerly foehn, still strong in the morning hours, will collapse in the afternoon. Temperatures will drop a notch: at 2000 m, to 5 degrees; at 3000 m, to 0 degrees.

On Tuesday, visibility will be impaired by cloud, fog and rain. Snow will fall above 2500 m. Winds will be brisk from northerly directions. At 2000 m: +4 degrees; at 3000 m: -1 degree.

Short Term Development

Monday and Tuesday will be unfavourable due to lacking nocturnal outgoing radiation and intermittent rainfall. Stable springtime conditions will develop again starting on Wednesdasy or, at latest, Thursday. The latter part of the week looks good.





Search Archive

Newsletter | als PDF als PDF

English Version english version



Lagebericht
Mo. 16.04.2018
update 15.04.18 18:19 (Bernhard Niedermoser)

Vorsicht: Lawinenaktiver Tag

Nachmittag

Vormittag

Wegen fehlender Ausstrahlung in der Nacht und Regenschauern sind die Bedingungen am Montag ungünstig. Bis 2700m hinauf ist mit erhöhter Lawinenaktivität zu rechnen. Die Lawinengefahr steigt im Tagesverlauf an. In den Hohen Tauern gibt es die meisten Rücklagen, dort wird die Gefahr ERHEBLICH, überall sonst ist sie MÄßIG. Zahlreiche Gleitschneelawinen und Nassschneeabgänge sind zu erwarten.

Gefahrenbeurteilung

Die Lawinengefahr ist am Montag von Beginn an MÄßIG und nimmt von Stunde zu Stunde zu. Spätestens ab Mittag ist sie insbesondere in den Tauern ERHEBLICH.

NASSSCHNEE: Schon am Vormittag nimmt die Bereitschaft für spontane Lawinenabgänge (Gleitschnee- und Nassschneelawinen) zu. Viele Lawinen sind klein und mittelgroß, einzelne werden wahrscheinlich auch groß werden. Betroffen sind alle Richtungen unter 2300m, im erweitere Südsektor (O-S-W) geht der aktive Bereich bis etwa 2700 m hinauf. Im extremen Steilgelände können oberflächliche nasse Lockerschneelawinen auch durch den Impuls von Schifahrern ausgelöst werden.

TRIEBSCHNEE: Generell günstiger sind die Bedingungen im Hochgebirge oberhalb von 2700m. Dort existieren nur wenige Gefahrenstellen für trockene Schneebretter im extrem steilen, kammnahen Nordsektor.

Schneedeckenaufbau

Die Schneedecke ist bis etwa 2500 m hinauf verbreitet 0-Grad-isotherm und im Inneren feucht, unter 1800m vielfach nass. Die Ausaperung schreitet rasch voran. In einer Woche gingen je nach Standort 30 bis 50 cm verloren, ein Großteil davon ist in der Föhnströmung verdunstet. Der aktive Bereich für Gleitschnee- und Naßschneelawinen liegt derzeit rein nordseitig zwischen 1700 und 2300m, rein südseitig zwischen 2100 und 2700m. Oberhalb von etwa 2700m ist die Schneedecke derzeit noch ziemlich stabil.

Alpinwetter der ZAMG Salzburg

Die Nacht auf Montag ist bedeckt. Ab und zu kann es in Schauern regnen, im Süden wahrscheinlicher als im Norden.

Am Montag stecken die Gipfel immer wieder im Nebel. Zeitweise regnet es, ab Mittag können auch Blitz und Donner auftreten. Etwas Schnee fällt nur im Hochgebirge. Der am Vormittag noch teils lebhafte Südföhn bricht am Nachmittag zusammen. Eine Spur kühler: In 2000m um 5 Grad, in 3000m um 0 Grad.

Am Dienstag wird die Sicht durch Wolken, Nebel und Regen eingeschränkt. Schnee fällt ab etwa 2500 m. Der Wind weht teils lebhaft aus nördlichen Richtungen. In 2000m um 4 Grad, in 3000 um -1 Grad.

Tendenz

Montag und Dienstag sind wegen fehlender nächtlicher Ausstrahlung und zeitweiligem Regen ungünstig. Stabile Frühlingsverhältnisse entwickeln sich wieder aber Mittwoch oder spätestens Donnerstag. Zweite Wochenhälfte schaut generell sehr gut aus.





Suche Archiv